TSEM 190: Water (Fehskens)

The comprehensive index includes the names of some 1,000 individuals, agencies, organizations, and seminal book titles, plus 37 feature films noted for representations of nature. Cross-referencing to related entries is generous. A ‘Reader’s Guide’ groups entry titles by broad headings (‘Geography,’ ‘History,’ ‘Movements and Regulations,’ and more), providing helpful context....This important work gives a well-focused snapshot of environmentalism in the early 21st Century, and it will remain valuable into the future both for its content and as a yardstick to measure progress toward sustainability and conservation.”
--CHOICE

"A diverse group of over 100 scholars have provided their research and analysis of why water is so significant by tracing its impact on issues like national and state boundaries, western migration, urbanization, and the economy. This volume chronicles the origins of present-day water problems, political conflicts, the impact of legislation and court decisions on the use of water resources, the major projects undertaken across the country, and what experts are proposing be done to preserve this basic component of the environment."
-From the publisher

You might want to browse articles by TOPIC or SUBTOPIC, including global information about water and water crisis.

Covering both transnational topics and intellectual approaches to the study of global themes.

"Freshwater Supply investigates the increasing water crisis and outlines the inevitable political, environmental, and cultural ramifications of the issue. It offers case studies from the United States and four areas of current international concern: Bolivia; Egypt, Ethiopia, and Sudan; Israel, Jordan, and the Palestinian Territories; and India, Pakistan, and Bangladesh. Each case study also provides an assessment of counterstrategies to mitigate possible disaster, including global discussion and cooperation, desalinization of ocean water, recycling, and filtration." From the publisher
This book also includes national and international primary source documents and an annotated bibliography.

"The Encyclopedia of Environmental Change is an advanced work of reference intended to promote knowledge and understanding across this important, complex interdisciplinary field by clarifying the terminology, by providing an authoritative and up-to-date gateway to information and by encouraging the synthesis of its diverse parts. " From the author
This 3-volume encyclopedia provides over 4,000 entries from one sentence definitions to short essays.

"This unique collection of primary documents examines the evolution of concern about environmental degradation, pollution, and resource conservation in America from the Colonial period the present...Chapters are arranged chronologically to illustrate how environmental thought has changed over time."
-From the publisher