Research Guides: ENGL 317: Writing for Business & Industry: News & Journal Articles

A-Z Database List

A-Z Databases
View the complete list of library databases and find the best one for your research.

News

Baltimore Sun - Current (Pawprints Collegiate Readership Program)
Provided by Towson University Offices of Civic Engagement & Social Responsibility, Housing & Residence Life, and Student Government Association. Visit this portal to create and access your subscription to The Baltimore Sun using your TU credentials and email address. After creating/renewing your account, you should be able to log in directly through The Baltimore Sun using your email address and password. Overview of available features
News & Newspapers, Current
Search for citations, abstracts, and full-text for the Baltimore Sun (1990-present), Christian Science Monitor (1980-present), New York Times (1980-present), Wall Street Journal (1984-present), and Washington Post (1987-present). ProQuest also provides digitized newspaper versions of the New York Times (1980-2008), Wall Street Journal (selected issues from 1982-2002), and Washington Post (selected issues from 1988-2008) with high-resolution facsimile images of the print editions.
Newsbank Access World News
NewsBank is an e-resource that consolidates current and archived information in fully searchable databases comprised of more than 5,000 newspaper titles, as well as newswires, Web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications.
New York Times – Current (Pawprints Collegiate Readership Program)
Provided by Towson University Offices of Civic Engagement & Social Responsibility, Housing & Residence Life, and Student Government Association. Visit this portal to create and access your subscription to The New York Times using your TU credentials and email address. After creating/renewing your account, you should be able to log in directly through The New York Times using your email address and password. Overview of available features.
Wall Street Journal: Current Newspapers
Articles from the Wall Street Journal from 1984-present.
To view the WSJ in paper/microfilm, including tables, visit the Periodicals Desk, 2nd floor.

Journal Articles

Multidisciplinary Databases

Cook OneSearch
Find books, articles, media, government information, and other library resources all in one place. Search what Towson owns as well as resources at other USMAI Libraries.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar enables users to search for scholarly literature from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, repositories and universities. Use Google Scholar to find journal articles, peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, technical reports and preprints on the web.
Academic Search Ultimate
Indexing and abstracts for over 7,000 journals. Full text of articles for over 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed publications. Multidisciplinary subject coverage, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, and ethnic studies.

Subject Specific Databases

ACM Digital Library
Use ACM's Digital Library to search the full text of ACM's online journals, magazines and conference proceedings. The database also includes the Encyclopedia of Computer Science, which is a great resource for background information on various computer science topics and concepts. Terms and Conditions
Business Source Complete
Articles from newspapers, trade publications, magazines, and scholarly journals on all aspects of business. Also covers economics. Features SWOT Analyses and industry profiles from MarketLine; country reports.
Criminal Justice Database
Full-text coverage for 45 of the titles most frequently accessed by criminal justice researchers, and complete indexing and abstracts for another 140 relevant U.S. and international journals.
Education Research Complete
A bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing, including areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
GreenFILE
This resource indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, and offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, this database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.
Health Source- Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 520 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 550 journals.
Military & Government Collection
Collection of military titles, trade publications and newsweeklies. Includes abstracts and indexing for over 430 titles providing cover to cover full text for over 285.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The index features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,000 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 235 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 545 books and monographs, and full text for 6,601 conference papers.

Ask a Librarian

ENGL 317: Writing for Business & Industry

A-Z Database List

News

Journal Articles

Multidisciplinary Databases

Subject Specific Databases