Data

Dryad provides access to the datasets associated with published research articles. You can search for the title of an article to see if their data is published in Dryad, or you can search for a specific topic or keyword to see which datasets are available in this area.

Figshare is a repository containing a wide variety of research outputs, including datasets. After you search, you can limit your results to just datasets by checking the box next to "datasets" in the Item Type section on the left side of the screen.

Mendeley Data provides access to over 26 million open access datasets. It searches several data repositories at once, including Dryad and ICPSR.

Harvard Dataverse contains datasets on a wide variety of topics, including biology and health sciences.

Open Science Framework (OSF) is a platform where research can choose to make specific aspects of the research, including datasets, available to the public. Not all OSF projects have datasets attached to them, so it may take some trial and error to find what you need. Search for your topic, click on a project, and then check the files section to see what datasets are available for download.

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides access to datasets on a wide range of topics. It is especially useful for topics in the social sciences. While most datasets in ICPSR are free and publicly available, some of them may require you to create an account in order to download them.

The Registry of Research Data Repositories contains a list of data repositories, rather than the datasets themselves. It is a great place to look if you are not sure where to search for the dataset you need.

The Environmental Data Initiative (EDI) provides access to ecological and environment datasets from publicly funded research projects.

The Ecological Data Wiki is a crowd-sourced repository of datasets in ecology.

The Global Biodiversity Information Facility is a great resource for finding datasets related to biodiversity.

The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) contains data on a large number of biotechnology topics. This includes gene and protein sequences, taxonomy, and more.

UniProt is a great resource for finding data on protein sequences and functions.

BioCyc contains genomic data for a large number of commonly researched organisms.

The Protein Data Bank contains 3D structure information for DNA, RNA, and proteins.

PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative.

The Cambridge Structural Database contains data on small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal structures.

MatWeb contains detailed property information for metals, plastics, ceramics, and composites.

The National Institute of Standards and Technology Chemistry WebBook contains thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data for primarily organic compounds.

SpectraBase provides access to NMR, IR, Raman, UV-Vis, and Mass Spectra data for chemical compounds.

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) provides access spectra information for common environmental pollutants.

The Protein Data Bank contains 3D structure information for DNA, RNA, and proteins.

CAIDA provides access to datasets that can be used for analysis of networking functions.

The Stanford Large Network Dataset Collection contains datasets relating to social networks and other information networks.

The KONECT Project was started by the University of Koblenz-Landau in Germany. It provides accessing to networking data.

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration provides access to current and historical climate data.

The National Trends Network (NTN) provides data about precipitation chemistry from sites in the United States.

The United States Geological Survey provides access to data on water flow, water levels, chemical and physical information, and water use.

The Water Quality Portal (WQP) contains water quality data from designated state, federal, tribal, and local agency sites in the United States.

The National Ground-Water Monitoring Network (NGWMN) provides current and historical data about groundwater data from wells across the United States.

The DOI Data Explorer contains projects, collections, and datasets published by the US Department of Energy.

The U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) provides access to data on energy consumption, efficiency, prices, and distribution.

A transportation database that combines resources from the Transportation Research Information Services database (TRIS) and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation database (ITRD). Note that Towson subscribes to some but not all of the publishers that appear in this database. You can request any articles that we do not have access to via interlibrary loan (ILL). Contact your subject librarian if you require assistance with this process.

The EDI Data Portal contains ecological and environmental data from publicly funded research projects.

CLASS contains environmental monitoring data from a large number of satellite sources.

The Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center (SEDAC) is run by NASA and contains data relating to how humans interact with the environment. It contains data on agriculture, climate, conservation, infrastructure, land use, and more.

The MGDS contains sensor-based geoscience data.

The World Bank provides data on emissions, endangered species, land use, and more.

The EPA provides access to four catalogs of environmental data: Environmental Dataset Gateway (EDG), Geosaptial Applications, Registry of EPA Applications, Models, and Data Warehouses (READ), and System of Registries (SoR).

PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative.

The Maryland state government provides access to a variety of open data sets, organized by topic. Try browsing the Agriculture, Environment, and Health sections to find data relevant to biology.

Baltimore City provides access to a data sets on a variety of topics.

Data.gov provides access to all of the United States government's open datasets.

The Census Bureau website provides access to demographic information about the United States. Click on Advanced Search to limit your search to a specific region, topic, or year.

The WHO provides access to data on a wide variety of health topics around the world.

The FAO publishes statistics relating to food and agriculture for most countries of the world.

The World Bank provides data on global development topics.

The Pew Research Center publishes the complete datasets from their reports after a given amount of time has elapsed. The Pew Research Center publishes research on a wide range of public interest topics.