It is often a good idea to begin your research by finding background information on your topic. Background sources are also called reference sources. Background sources such as dictionaries and encyclopedias will provide you with basic information such as definitions and key areas of research related to your topic. Doing this background research will help you to fully understand your topic before you move further into your research process.
These databases contain encyclopedia articles and other reference materials that can serve as a good starting point for your research.
SAGE Knowledge is a searchable collection of thousands of selected ebooks and over 60 encyclopedias and reference works covering many subjects, including business and management, criminal justice, education, family studies, politics, and many others, and provides unlimited, site-wide use. Terms and Conditions.
Here are a few examples of books and eBooks containing background information on business and technology. You can find more using Cook OneSearch. Print reference books are located on the third floor of the Cook Library.
Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology, Third Edition by 
A Dictionary of Computer Science by 
Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology by Some websites contain good background information. However, you have to be especially careful when searching the open web because a lot of information out there is inaccurate. For more information about finding good information from web searching, see the Finding Credible Websites page of this guide.
