Research Guides: COSC 111: Information and Technology for Business: Finding Scholarly Research Articles

Getting Full Text Articles

If you do not see a full text article link look for the button in order to:

Access online full text (when available)
See if the journal is available in print (library catalog)
Request a pdf of the article if full text is not available online (Interlibrary Loan)

If you have the citation for the article you are trying to access, search the Journal List to check if the library subscribes to your specific article.

Data Science Librarian

Songyao Chen

Email Me

Contact:

Cook Library, 407A

4107045169

Subjects: Business Systems & Processes, Computer and Information Sciences, Data, Information Systems, Information Technology, Supply Chain Management

Research Article Databases

The following list contains a variety of databases that you can use to find scholarly articles on your topic. Need help searching? Watch the videos on the How to Search: Tutorial Videos page or Ask a Librarian for assistance.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for over 7,000 journals. Full text of articles for over 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed publications. Multidisciplinary subject coverage, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, and ethnic studies.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from newspapers, trade publications, magazines, and scholarly journals on all aspects of business. Also covers economics. Features SWOT Analyses and industry profiles from MarketLine; country reports.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect includes over 2,500 full text journals and 7,500 eBooks covering all aspects of science - including life sciences, physical sciences and social sciences. Terms and Conditions.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a large, multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It also has tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
It is a digital library providing full text access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use ACM's Digital Library to search the full text of ACM's online journals, magazines and conference proceedings. The database also includes the Encyclopedia of Computer Science, which is a great resource for background information on various computer science topics and concepts. Terms and Conditions
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar enables users to search for scholarly literature from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, repositories and universities. Use Google Scholar to find journal articles, peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, technical reports and preprints on the web.
Cook OneSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly articles with Cook OneSearch by selecting "Peer Reviewed" in the "Limit to" section on the left side of your results screen.

Accessing Articles Later

If you find an article that you would like to come back to, do not copy and paste the URL from the top of your web browser. Database URLs change frequently as articles are added and removed, so the URL you copy may not work later. The safest option is always to find and download the PDF and save it in a safe place. However, you can also create a permalink, which is a stable URL that will work for you later.

Creating permalinks in Cook OneSearch or an EBSCO database is easy: on the article page, look under the Tools column on the right and click on the word permalink. Then, copy and paste the URL it creates into a safe place.

Other databases may not have a permalink icon for you. If you find an article and you don't see an option to save a permalink, you can use the Cook Library's Proxy Builder to create your stable URL. Copy and paste your URL into the first box, and a stable URL will be created for you in the second box.

Find an Article with Cook OneSearch

This video, "Find an Article with Cook OneSearch" from the Albert S. Cook Library, discusses how to search for and access articles. This video runs 4:55 and was last updated in October, 2020.

Using Google in a Scholarly Way: Google Scholar

Learn to conduct research using Google Scholar. This video from the Albert S. Cook Library runs 2:44 and was last updated in 2021.