Skip to main content
Albert S. Cook Library

CSE Style

Learn to cite sources using the Council of Science Editors (CSE) style.

Need Help?

Cook Library has experienced librarians and library assistants ready to help, no matter where you are!

 

chat loading...

 

Text message: 410-774-1398

Phone: 410-704-2462

You can also:

Details to Note

A website citation consists of the author (if any) webpage title, edition, place of publication, publisher, date of publication, date of last update, date accessed, and a URL. A database citation consists of the database title, edition, place of publication, publisher, dates of operation, date of last update, date accessed, and URL. The CSE notes that most websites, especially homepages, do not list individual authors. If there is any doubt about attribution, use the "Website with No Author" format listed below.

Some of these citation elements are not readily available from all websites and databases. If you are unable to locate one of these items, omit that element from your citation.

Use the formats described on this page to cite a website or database only. For other electronic sources, consult the corresponding pages of this guide, which are linked on the left (eg: the citation format for an eBook is described on the "Books & Book Chapters" page). Some online sources such as videos and blog posts are included on the "Miscellaneous" page as well.

The order of elements in your citation will vary according to the in-text citation style you are using. Examples are listed on this page for both scenarios. For more information about in-text citations, refer the the CSE Style Guide homepage.

Website with No Author

Citation-Sequence or Citation-Name:

Title of webpage. Edition. Place of publication: publisher; date of publication [date updated; date accessed]. URL.

APSnet: plant pathology. St Paul (MN): American Phytopathological Association; c1994-2005 [accessed 2005 Jun 20]. http://www.apsnet.org/.

 

Name-Year:

Title of webpage. Date of publication. Edition. Place of publication: publisher;  [date updated; date accessed]. URL.

APSnet: plant pathology. c1994-2005. St Paul (MN): American Phytopathological Association; [accessed 2005 Jun 20]. http://www.apsnet.org/.

 

Website with Author

Citation-Sequence or Citation-Name:

Author. Title of webpage. Edition. Place of publication: publisher; date of publication [date updated; date accessed]. URL.

Lawrence RA. A review of the medical benefits and contraindications to breastfeeding in the United States. Arlington (VA): National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health (US); 1997 [accessed 2005 Jun 28]. 40 p. http://www.ncemch.org/pubs/PDFs/breastfeedingTIB.pdf.

 

Name-Year:

Author. Date of publication. Title of webpage. Edition. Place of publication: publisher; [date updated; date accessed]. URL.

Lawrence RA. 1997. A review of the medical benefits and contraindications to breastfeeding in the United States. Arlington (VA): National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health (US); [accessed 2005 Jun 28]. 40 p. http://www.ncemch.org/pubs/PDFs/breastfeedingTIB.pdf.

Online Database

Citation-Sequence or Citation-Name:

Title of Database. Edition. Place of publication: publisher. Beginning date-ending date [date updated; date accessed]. URL.

IMGT/HLA Sequence Database. Release 2.9.0. Cambridge (England): European Bioinformatics Institute. 2003- [updated 2005 Jun 1; accessed 2005 Jun 22]. http://www.ebi.ac.uk/ipd/imgt/hla/.

 

Name-Year:

Title of Database. Beginning date-ending date. Edition. Place of publication: publisher.  [date updated; date accessed]. URL.

IMGT/HLA Sequence Database. 2003-. Release 2.9.0. Cambridge (England): European Bioinformatics Institute. [updated 2005 Jun 1; accessed 2005 Jun 22]. http://www.ebi.ac.uk/ipd/imgt/hla/.