50 Years of Hip Hop

Established in 2007, the Cornell Hip Hop Collection preserves more than 250,000 items across dozens of archives documenting the origins of Hip Hop culture and its spread around the globe.

The Culture: Hip Hop and Contemporary Art in the 21st Century captures the extraordinary influence hip hop has had on contemporary society through more than 90 works of art and fashion by some of today’s most important and celebrated artists and iconic brands.

The Hiphop Archive and Research Institute curates all forms of Hiphop material culture including recordings, videos, websites, films, original papers, works, references, productions, conferences, meetings, interviews, publications, research, formal proceedings, etc.

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame launches 'Hip Hop at 50' a celebration of the immersive, thriving cultural force, including the opening of "Holla If Ya Hear Me." Inside the museum and online, fans can explore hip hop's breakthrough moments, powerful sound and ability to connect in times of strife & celebration.

NOLA Hiphop and Bounce Archive is a digital collection created by the Amistad Research Center and presented in the Tulane University Digital Library. It collects over 50 photographic portraits and audio interviews with New Orleans rappers, DJs, producers, photographers, label owners, promoters, record store personnel, journalists and other parties involved in the New Orleans hip-hop and bounce scene from the late 1980's through Hurricane Katrina, as well as ephemera including original fliers, posters, vintage photographs and an extensive collection of record, CD and cassette tape scans.

This is the first hip-hop based collection to enter Towson University's Special Collections, the first in the University of Maryland system, and the first in the State of Maryland. It is also the first living archive of a professional beatboxer anywhere in the world.

The Smithsonian Anthology of Hip-Hop and Rap is a first-of-its-kind multimedia collection chronicling the growth of the music and culture from the parks of the Bronx to solidifying a reach that spans the globe.

The Universal Hip Hop Museum (UHHM) is the Official Record of Hip Hop. Located in the Bronx, New York it is the place where Hip Hop will exponentially flourish.