Cook Library has experienced librarians and library assistants ready to help, no matter where you are!
Text message: 410-774-1398
You can also:
Call numbers are like addresses for books in the library. They are used to arrange the books on the library’s shelves so every book has a specific location.
Here's a breakdown of the call number TK5105.887 .P63 2008
| TK | Read the beginning letters in alphabetical order. |
| 5105.887 | Read the first number (including decimal points) in numerical order. |
| .P63 | The next piece is a combination of letters and numbers. Read the letter alphabetically and the number as a decimal. |
| 2008 | This is the year the book was published, which can be helpful if there are multiple editions of the book. |
The books in Cook Library are organized using the Library of Congress Call Classification System. Cook's circulating collection begins on the 5th floor with call number range A-K and continues onto the 4th floor with books in the call number range L-Z and our juvenile books collection. Library floor plans and directory information can be found on our Building Directory page.
|
5th Floor of Cook Library has Books A-K:
A - General Works (Encyclopedias, Directories, Indexes) B - Philosophy, Psychology, Religion C - Auxiliary Sciences of History (Archeology, Numismatics, Biography) D - General & Eastern History E - American History F - Western History G - Geography, Anthropology, Recreation H - Social Sciences & Business J - Political Science K - Law What you'll also find: Maps and Atlases, Oversized books A-K, REF Books A-K, Special Collection (Archives)
|
4th Floor of Cook Library has books L-Z:
L - Education M - Music N - Fine Arts P - Languages & Literature, Poetry (Graphic Novels in subclass PN6700) Q - Science R - Medicine S - Agriculture T - Technology (railroads, Construction, Electrical Engineering) U - Military Science V - Naval Science Z - Library Science, Bookmaking, Typography What you'll also find: Oversized books L-Z, REF Books L-Z, Juvenile and Children's Collection. |
