Indigenous Research

• Celebrating Native Heritage & Culture
• Recognizing Indigenous People & Land

• The Baltimore American Indian Center (BAIC) is a nonprofit organization that was founded in 1968 with a mission to “assist and support American Indian and Alaskan Native families moving into an urban environment and adjusting to the culture change they will experience.” It now focuses on cultural heritage preservation and education programs, with health, housing and employment-related services provided on an ad hoc basis.
• Native American LifeLines is a Title V Indian Health Services contracted Urban Indian Health Program serving the Baltimore and Boston metropolitan areas. It provides culturally centered behavioral health, dental, outreach and referral services.
• The Maryland Commission on Indian Affairs serves the interests of Native American communities in Maryland. They assist in the process of obtaining State and/or Federal recognition, promote awareness of the historic and contemporary contributions of Native Americans, and provide resources to address the educational, social, and economic needs of Native American Communities in Maryland.

• Urban Indian Health Institute | Decolonizing Data, for Indigenous People, by Indigenous People. - Urban Indian Health Institute conducts research and evaluations, collects and analyzes data, and provides disease surveillance to strengthen the health of American Indian and Alaska Native communities.  
• Office of Urban Indian Health Programs | Indian Health Service (IHS) - Indian Health Service is an agency within the Department of Health and Human Services that aims to raise the physical, mental, social, and spiritual health of American Indians and Alaska Natives to the highest level.  
• Center for Native American Youth - Works to improve the health, safety, and overall well-being of Native American youth through youth recognition, inspiration and leadership; research, advocacy, and policy change; serving as a national resource exchange; and by building a Native-youth driven narrative. 

Health Statistics and Data

• American Indian/Alaska Native Minority Population Profiles
• Health of American Indian or Alaska Native Population from the CDC
• Tribal Health Disparities

• Canadian Journal of Native Education (CJNE) 
  The Canadian Journal of Native Education (CJNE) was first published in 1980 with the goal of compiling and sharing the works of Indigenous Scholars in the field of education.  From its inception the journal was published twice yearly: In spring/summer a theme issue was compiled by the Faculty of Education's Indigenous Education Institute of Canada (later moved to the Office of Indigenous Education, in the Faculty of Education) at the University of British Columbia.

• Indigenous Studies Portal | University of Saskatchewan - Browse by subject or by community to learn about Indigenous topics in Canada

Native News Sources

• Indian Country Today - News - ICT News 

• Native America Today | Native American News 

• IllumiNative - A Native woman-led racial and social justice organization dedicated to combatting dominant narratives about Native peoples and providing educational resources that empower all. 

• Native Governance Center - A Native-led nonprofit dedicated to assisting Native nations in strengthening their governance systems and capacity to exercise sovereignty. Originally based in Minnesota, North Dakota, and South Dakota. 

• National Congress of American Indians (NCAI): Founded in 1944, the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) is the oldest, largest, and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization serving the broad interests of tribal governments and communities. 

• Water Protectors - Water Protectors are dedicated to protecting the water, supporting indigenous youth, and supporting native women 

• Honor the Earth- Works to raise public awareness and raise and direct funds to grassroots Native environmental groups 

• Indigenous Environmental Network - IEN’s activities include building the capacity of Indigenous communities and tribal governments to develop mechanisms to protect sacred sites, land, water, air, natural resources, and to build economically sustainable communities 

• Return to a Native Place: Algonquian Peoples of the Chesapeake – A permanent exhibit featured in the Smithsonian’s National Museum of the American Indian (Washington, DC) curated by Dr. Gabrille Tayac (Piscataway) 

• Frank Gouldsmith Speck Photograph Collection | Virginia & Maryland: Rappahannock, Chickahominy, Pamunkey, Mattaponi, Nansemond, Potomac, Accomac, and Powhatan 

• Maryland American Indian Sites and Experiences 

• Piscataway Park and Native American History in Washington DC 

• Native Peoples of Washington, DC – National Parks Service 

• East Baltimore’s Historic American Indian “Reservation” was a community of Native Americans established in Baltimore City in the mid-twentieth century. This is resource is part of the Guide to Indigenous Baltimore.

• You're on Indian Land - A digital exhibit exploring the history and legacy of the Indigenous people of the Eastern Shore and their connections to the Salisbury University Campus

• Bureau of Indian Affairs -  Maintains government-to-government relationships with Indian tribes, and facilitates support for tribal people and tribal governments. Indian Affairs provides services directly or through contracts, grants, or compacts to 574 Federally recognized tribes with a service population of approximately 2.5 million American Indian and Alaska Natives.   

• GovTrack - Browse bills in the U.S. Congress related to the subject Native Americans, as determined by the Library of Congress 

• Grants.gov - Filter by eligibility to find over 1,000 federal grants available for Native American tribal organizations and governments 

• FEMA Tribal Affairs Hub - The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)'s hub for working with Tribal nations for disaster preparedness and response

• The Indigenous Business Directory provides a national database of Native businesses to organizations in North America, to assist procurement teams in connecting with Indigenous businesses.  

• The U.S. Small Business Association is a federal service that provides opportunities in contracting, business development, and other programs for Indigenous small business owners  

• The U.S. Department of the Interior Indian Arts & Crafts Board promotes the economic development of federally recognized American Indians and Alaska Natives through the expansion of the Indian arts and crafts market. 

• American Indian Business Leaders is a nonprofit organization designed to support and promote the education and development of future Indigenous business leaders, offering scholarship support and culturally appropriate paid internships and mentoring opportunities with corporate, tribal, and small business partners