Research Guides: Information Systems: News and Background Information

Pawprints Collegiate Readership Program

Did you know that you have free access to the New York Times and Baltimore Sun as a TU student? Visit the Pawprints Collegiate Readership Program website for more information about how to access these resources.

Data Science Librarian

Songyao Chen

Email Me

Contact:

Cook Library, 407A

4107045169

Subjects: Business Systems & Processes, Computer and Information Sciences, Data, Information Systems, Information Technology

News

Search the databases below to find news about topics in information systems.

News & Newspapers, Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"Citations, abstracts, and full-text for the Baltimore Sun (1990-current), Christian Science Monitor (1988-current), New York Times (1980-current), Wall Street Journal (1984-current), and Washington Post (1987-current). ProQuest Digitized Newspaper versions of the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post are also provided, with high-resolution facsimile...images from the print editions of these newspapers. Coverage for all three in Digitized Newspapers is 2008-recent, with a 3-month embargo."
Newsbank Access World News This link opens in a new window
NewsBank is an e-resource that consolidates current and archived information in fully searchable databases comprised of more than 5,000 newspaper titles, as well as newswires, Web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications.
Wall Street Journal: Current Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from the Wall Street Journal from 1984-present.
To view the WSJ in paper/microfilm, including tables, visit the Periodicals Desk, 2nd floor.
New York Times: Current Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of articles from the New York Times from 1980-present.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international news, company information, and market data. Create custom company reports.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni includes full text newspapers, company news and financial information, as well as federal, state, and international legal materials. Also contains some medical and reference sources.

Computer Science News Websites

Here are a few websites that contain the latest news in computer science and information technology.

Databases for Background Research

The Cook Library subscribes to several reference databases, which primarily contain resources such as encyclopedia articles that provide a basic overview of a topic. The resources you find in these databases are an excellent starting point for your background research.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected titles. Gale eBooks provides access to encyclopedias and other reference works covering education, law, world biography, business, economics, other cultures, public health, and more. Terms and Conditions
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Knowledge is a searchable collection of thousands of selected ebooks and over 60 encyclopedias and reference works covering many subjects, including Business and management, criminal justice, education, family studies, politics, and many others, and provides unlimited, site-wide use. Terms and Conditions.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
The CQ Researcher, published by CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Press, reports a current social issue each week. Reports are approximately 20 pages long and provide background information, important points to consider, charts and graphs, and a source list for further reading. Database access limited to 10 simultaneous users.