Research Guides: Information Technology: Scholarly Articles

Getting Full Text Articles

If you do not see a way to download or view a pdf or html file of an article you may see a yellow icon with the words "find it":

Follow the icon in order to:

Access online full text (when available)
See if the journal is available in print (library catalog)
Request a free pdf of the article if full text is not available online (Interlibrary loan)

If you have the citation for the article you are trying to access, you can also search the Journal List to check if the library subscribes to your specific article.

Data Science Librarian

Songyao Chen

Email Me

Contact:

Cook Library, 407A

4107045169

Subjects: Business Systems & Processes, Computer and Information Sciences, Data, Information Systems, Information Technology, Supply Chain Management

Databases

The following databases contain scholarly articles about information technology. You can also find scholarly literature via Cook OneSearch -- just make sure you check the box next to "peer reviewed" on the search results screen.

Not seeing the database you need? Try the A-Z Databases page or Ask a Librarian for assistance.

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use ACM's Digital Library to search the full text of ACM's online journals, magazines and conference proceedings. The database also includes the Encyclopedia of Computer Science, which is a great resource for background information on various computer science topics and concepts. Terms and Conditions
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for over 7,000 journals. Full text of articles for over 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed publications. Multidisciplinary subject coverage, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, and ethnic studies.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from newspapers, trade publications, magazines, and scholarly journals on all aspects of business. Also covers economics. Features SWOT Analyses and industry profiles from MarketLine; country reports.
FAITS- Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies This link opens in a new window
Contains hundreds of technology reports that keep up with the critical issues, emerging trends, products, services, and trends in the IT industry. Coverage includes IT infrastructure, telecommunications, wireless technology, data networking, convergence, security, the internet, and technology vendors.
Security Management Practices This link opens in a new window
Collection of full text reports on topics such as securing the enterprise network, planning for disruptions, managing risk, establishing security best practices and more. New reports added monthly.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a large, multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It also has tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect includes over 2,500 full text journals and 7,500 eBooks covering all aspects of science - including life sciences, physical sciences and social sciences. Terms and Conditions.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar enables users to search for scholarly literature from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, repositories and universities. Use Google Scholar to find journal articles, peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, technical reports and preprints on the web.
Cook OneSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find books, articles, media, government information, and other library resources all in one place. Search what Towson owns as well as resources at other USMAI Libraries.

Open Access Journals

In addition to searching the databases that the Cook Library subscribes to, you can also find scholarly articles about information systems in open access journals. These articles are freely available online and do not require a TU login.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
A database containing over 12,000 peer reviewed scholarly journals across numerous academic disciplines.
Springer Open
A collection of open access journals from the publisher Springer. It contains journals in the life sciences, biomedicine, public health, and a variety of other academic disciplines.

Accessing Articles Later

If you find an article that you would like to come back to, do not copy and paste the URL from the top of your web browser. Database URLs change frequently as articles are added and removed, so the URL you copy may not work later. The safest option is always to find and download the PDF and save it in a safe place. However, you can also create a permalink, which is a stable URL that will work for you later.

Creating permalinks in Cook OneSearch or an EBSCO database is easy: on the article page, look under the Tools column on the right and click on the word permalink. Then, copy and paste the URL it creates into a safe place.

Other databases may not have a permalink icon for you. If you find an article and you don't see an option to save a permalink, you can use the Cook Library's Proxy Builder to create your stable URL. Copy and paste your URL into the first box, and a stable URL will be created for you in the second box.

What to do if you hit a paywall

Sometimes when you're searching for articles, especially on the open web, you may encounter a paywall. This is a page that often has the abstract of an article but it tells you that you must pay a fee to access the full-text of the article. If that happens, please don't pay to access the article! Most of the time, the library can still get it for you.

When you hit a paywall, please feel free to Ask a Librarian for assistance. The video below shows how you can search for alternative means of access on your own.

ACM Digital Library Demo

The video below demonstrates how to search ACM Digital Library to find the latest research in computer science and information technology.