Research Guides: Molecular Biology, Biochemistry & Bioinformatics (MB3): Getting Started

Head of Library Teaching

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Email: ebwhite@towson.edu

Phone: (410) 704-8026

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science/Studies, Forensic Chemistry, Math Education, Mathematics, MB3, Research Impact, Research Metrics, Science Education

In this Guide

Use the pages in this guide to find:

Places to search for news and background information about MB3-related topics.
Resources for finding eBooks and print books.
Databases containing scholarly articles about MB3.
Video tutorials for how to use Cook Library databases effectively.
Links to data sources for research in MB3.
Resources to help you cite your sources using the proper format.

Best Bets

Not sure where to start? Try one of these "Best Bets" or refer to the other pages on this guide.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect includes over 2,500 full text journals and 7,500 eBooks covering all aspects of science - including life sciences, physical sciences and social sciences. Terms and Conditions.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a large, multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It also has tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
American Chemical Society Online Journals This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of chemistry journals available through the American Chemical Society.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library contains the full text of ACM's online journals, magazines and conference proceedings.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar enables users to search for scholarly literature from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, repositories and universities. Use Google Scholar to find journal articles, peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, technical reports and preprints on the web.
Cook OneSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find books, articles, media, government information, and other library resources all in one place. Search what Towson owns as well as resources at other USMAI Libraries.

Remote Access through TU Libraries

You can access our online resources from off-campus. Add this button as a bookmark to your browser, and then reload to get it through TU Libraries. If we subscribe to it, you will be able to see it after you log in.

Bookmark the "Reload at TU" button

Firefox

Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar or right click and select the "Bookmark This Link" option.

Chrome

Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar.

Safari

Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar. If the bookmarks toolbar isn't visible, press Ctrl + Shift + B.

Internet Explorer

Right click the button and choose the "Add to favorites..." option. You may get a warning about adding unsafe links. While it's good practice to be wary, this link is safe.

How it works

This button adds some information in front of the URL called a proxy that allows you to log in through your TU netID.

It will only work for resources we subscribe to. Check the Journal List or Databases list for a complete list, or Ask a Librarian.

Access Library Resources from Off Campus

This video, "Accessing Cook Library Resources from Off Campus" from the Albert S. Cook Library, discusses how you can sign in to the library website, sign in to Cook OneSearch, and use the Reload at TU button. This video runs 4:12 and was last updated in August 2024.