Research Guides: Research Metrics: Tools and Resources

Databases with Metrics

Cabells Journalytics This link opens in a new window
Compare journals within disciplines. The Journalytics list includes traditional and alternative metrics for a wide variety of journals.
Cabells Predatory Reports This link opens in a new window
A directory of journals that are published using questionable, suspicious, or objectively deceitful and dishonest strategies.

Dimensions
Dimensions is a linked dataset including publications, citations, datasets and more.
Eigenfactor.org
The Eigenfactor is yet another metric to measure the reach of a journal.
Journal Guide
Conduct a topic search to see a list of journals and how they compare. Journal Guide uses the Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP).
The Lens
A scholarly search engine.
Scimago
Scimago, based on Scopus data, contains journal and country rankings as well as visualization tools.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search by author to view an author's impact. Search by keyword to view a citation analysis in a topic or field. Run a search and click on "Analyze Search Results" to see a dashboard analysis.
WorldCat FirstSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for an item to see how many libraries hold it worldwide.

Journal Lists

Miscellaneous Journals

Open Access Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

Researcher Profile Tools

Creating and maintaining a researcher profile in one or multiple platforms can help you disseminate your research and establish your identity in the field. A researcher profile will:

disambiguate you from others with similar names
link your publications and other research contributions to your profile despite name or affiliation change
enhance the discoverability of your work
allow you to use your profile data for tasks like updating your CV

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides authors with a profile that can be edited and shared. Sign in and view "My Profile" to edit and view.
ORCID
ORCID provides a digital identifier that you own and control. It will link you to your research products -- and you can use your information to update your CV, when applying for grants, and when submitting articles for publication.
Publons
Track your publications, citation metrics, peer reviews, and journal editing contributions with Publons.
SciENcv
SciENcv, from the National Center for Biotechnology Information, is a researcher profile system for all individuals who apply for, receive, or are associated with research grants from federal agencies. Create a Biosketch that can be shared with applications and submissions.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus provides a Scopus Author Identifier -- a unique number that matches your authorship to your documents.

Metrics Tools

Altmetric Bookmarklet
Find out the altmetrics (social media shares, news outlets, blog posts) on an article by installing this free bookmarklet in Chrome, Firefox, or Safari.
Metrics Toolkit
Metrics Toolkit is a resource for researchers and authors that can help you understand what a metric means and how it is calculated.
Symplur Healthcare Hashtags
Healthcare Hashtag Project, a free open platform for patient advocates, caregivers, doctors and other providers that connects them to relevant conversations and communities.

Training

Research Impact Things: A Self-Paced Training for IATUL Libraries

This training course covers Bibliometric Basics, Identifiers, Traditional Metrics, Emerging Metrics, Responsible Use of Ethics, Publishing Strategies,Open Research, Benchmarking, Rankings, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion, and Societal Impact.

Data Visualization and Analysis Tools

Data visualization and analyses tools can help you illustrate a point and make an impact. See our Data Studio guide for other tools and more information.

Data and Bibliographic Analysis

CitNetExplorer
CitNetExplorer can help you visualize and analyze citation networks of scientific publications.
Tableau Public
Tableau Public is the free version of Tableau (Desktop). Use Tableau to create visualizations from data.
VOSviewer
Download VOSviewer to construct and visualize bibliometric networks. These networks can be based on keywords, subject headings, authors, and more.
WordClouds.com
Input a selection of text to see it represented visually in a word cloud.

Illustration Tools

Draw.io
Use Draw.io to create a number of different diagrams.
Google Draw
Use Google Draw to create visualizations and diagrams.
Inkscape
Use Inkscape to create vector images.

Ask a Librarian

Research Metrics