How will you explain that you supported your topic with evidence? Surely not by saying...
I Googled it!
It is important to complete a thorough, documented literature search. Don't be afraid to call on the help of a librarian. A librarian can help you determine where to look and how to combine your chosen keywords for an efficient search.
There are some bibliographic literature databases that will have evidence in the form of clinical trials, systematic reviews, and more. Browse the resources below to get a better idea of which ones will fit your needs.
These databases are multidisciplinary with broad coverage. Use them to get started and for your main search.
The databases listed below may be good options as a complementary search source for specialized topics. While they may have some overlap of coverage with PubMed or a larger multidisciplinary database, you will likely find unique and specialized results.
Now that you've outlined your topic and decided on some search terms, take a look at the databases listed above. Consider which ones are appropriate for your topic.
Open up a Word document, get a blank sheet of paper, or use the document you started in the previous exercise. Write down 2-5 databases (or additional resources) where you plan to search for relevant material.
Choose databases other than Cook OneSearch. Cook OneSearch is a fine place to get started; however, it is a federated search, meaning that you are searching a variety of resources (databases) at once. It is not reproducible, and you won't always know what resources you're searching.
