Music

This database provides indexing and abstracts of music scholarship and includes a wide variety of genres and subject areas, such as classical, traditional, and popular music, jazz, historical musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, instruments, voice, and dance.

Indexes articles in music journals and magazines from 1976 to the present. Good for articles about: music history, composers, music compositions, music education, concert/art music topics, music industry.

An abstracted index of 300 international music periodicals from over 20 countries. Database access limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Good for searching for articles about: popular music, jazz, world/global music, music industry, music education

Music Online: Music Periodicals of the 19th Century is a collection of full-text periodicals depicting American musical life from 1838 to the early 1900s through local and international news, reviews, editorials, sheet music, and advertisements. Over 200,000 pages of material will be available for research on the Alexander Street multimedia platform – the only resource that allows users to cross-search the full text of all articles with videos, audio recordings, photographs, scores, and reference texts.

Good for searching for articles about: musical theater and opera along with ballet, dramatic, and other staged productions.

An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. Dates of coverage: 1880-2000.

Good for searching about music as it relates to literature, art, and other performing arts.

Provides full text of scholarly journals in many disciplines including music.
Good for searching for music history and specific composers, particularly for journals dating back to the early 1900s.

Good for topics that include music and another area of focus such as education, business, psychology.

A multidisciplinary database of scholarly and scientific journals that are available open access, without cost to users or their institutions. Users may read, download, copy, distribute, print, search or link to the full texts of these articles. The journal must exercise peer-review or editorial quality control to be included in the database.

Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, composers, musical genres, topics, and periods. Now includes several performing arts periodicals under the tab publications-->journals.