Research Guides: ARTH 309: Italian Renaissance Art & Architecture : Citations & Writing

Ready to Write?

A Short Guide to Writing about Art by Sylvan Barnet
Call Number: Stacks | N7476 .B37 2015
ISBN: 020588699X
Publication Date: 2014-01-15
This book is intended for art courses where there is a writing component. This text guides art students through the writing process. Students are shown how to analyze pictures (drawings, paintings, photographs), sculptures and architecture. The text includes: coverage of essential writing assignments including formal analysis, comparison, research paper, review of an exhibition, essay examination; clear step-by-step writing instructions guiding students though the research and writing processes; sample essays, with analytic comments by the author, demonstrating the virtues of effective writing.

Citing your Sources

Cook Library maintains an online subscription to the Chicago Manual of Style.

Chicago Manual of Style Online
Completely searchable and easy to use, The Chicago Manual of Style Online provides recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices for the digital age. Now offering the full contents of the 16th and 15th editions, it is the must-have reference for everyone who works with words.

There are also guides for at-a-glance information created by Cook Library Librarians.

Chicago Style: Notes and Bibliography
This guide provides instructions and examples for creating citations using the Chicago Manual of Style's Notes and Bibliography format.
Chicago Style: Author-Date Format
Examples in this guide page were created using the Chicago Manual of Style 17th edition (2017). Material requiring citation uses an in-text citation. For each author-date citation in the text, there must be a corresponding entry in the reference list, which occurs at the end of your paper. Remember, your professor is the final authority for the bibliographic form, including spacing used in your paper.

Citation Management

As your research and scholarship evolve, you may consider using a citation management tool to keep track of what you read and cite. Explore these options and see what is best for you.

Cook Library Zotero Guide
The Cook Library's Zotero guide describes how to use Zotero's many features to organize your research.
Cook Library EndNote Guide
The Cook Library's EndNote describes how to use EndNote to manage your references.
Cook Library Mendeley Guide
This Cook Library guide shows how to use Mendeley to accomplish multiple research tasks.

Ask a Librarian

ARTH 309: Italian Renaissance Art & Architecture

Ready to Write?

Citing your Sources

Cook Library maintains an online subscription to the Chicago Manual of Style.

There are also guides for at-a-glance information created by Cook Library Librarians.

Citation Management