Even databases that include scholarly articles do not do so exclusively.
Know the signs of a scholarly (research) article!
Lists the academic affiliation/credentials of the author(s)
Lengthy (typically 10+ pp.)
Has an analytical tone — reporting on research or analyzing theory, rather than merely giving advice/opinion
Chock-full of references, with a substantial bibliography
Pro Tips:
Not every piece within a scholarly journal is a scholarly (research) article – scholarly journals often publish book reviews and the occasional opinion piece/letter to the editor.
Such pieces can help you better understand your research topic, but should not be confused with scholarly articles that report research findings.
Not all databases include shortcuts to limit to scholarly articles.
Occasionally, databases misclassify a trade or professional/practitioner journal as “scholarly.”
Includes scholarship on all aspects of business, including Human Resource Development.
(Note that this database also includes news, magazines, trade publications, and reports.)
Scholarship in psychology, including scholarly articles and dissertations.
A great place to research organizational behavior, employee attitudes, work-life balance, employment tests, and many other HRD topics.
Law reviews are scholarly journals edited by law students, featuring analysis of case law and other legal issues.
It is usually helpful to know names of specific laws and cases before embarking on a law review search. You may limit your search to Labor Law.
Journals published by Emerald, including those covering Human Resources and Management.
- Articles in Emerald labeled as research papers and literature reviews are scholarly.
- Case studies, conceptual papers, and technical papers are sometimes scholarly in nature: it depends on the piece.
- Items with green boxes are available in full text.
Articles from scholarly journals and practitioner publications relating to all areas and levels of education.
Includes coverage of career counseling, development, and assessment, as well as training in the workplace.
Contains articles and other materials in all areas and levels of education.
Topics include career counseling, development, and assessment, as well as training in the workplace.
Articles and other research in the field of sociology. A great place to research diversity in the workplace, industrial relations, workplace violence and bullying, organizational behavior and other HRD topics.
Includes articles from newspapers, trade publications, and magazines on all aspects of business. A great place to research current trends on companies, industries, and HR topics.
