Skip to main content
Albert S. Cook Library

Chicago Style: Notes-Bibliography Format

Learn to cite sources using Chicago Style Notes-Bibliography Format

Need Help?

Cook Library has experienced librarians and library assistants ready to help, no matter where you are!

 

chat loading...

 

Text message: 410-774-1398

Phone: 410-704-2462

You can also:

Basic Citation Rules

Journal articles should include the following pieces of information (if available) in this order: {p. 729}

  1. Full name of the authors(s)
  2. Title and subtitle of the article
  3. Title of journal/magazine
  4.  Issue information:  volume number, issue number, month, year
  5. Specific page reference for footnote/endnote; total pagination for bibliography entry
  6. For electronically retrieved articles, (if required by your instructor), a date of access
  7. For electronically retrieved articles, a permalink URL or a DOI (digital object identifier), or database name and article ID number. Note: check with your instructor to see which of these pieces of information is preferred.

***Remember to single space after all commas, colons, and periods.

Article in Print Journal

Note

Basic pattern for note entries:

#. Author first name and last name, "Article Title," Journal Title vol. #, no. [place issue number here] (month year): page.

Example:

12. Francis Jemison, “Dance Therapy: A New Approach,”  Journal of Research in Dance 12, no. 2 (May 2008): 24.

Bibliography

Basic pattern for bibliography entries:

Author last name, first name. "Title of Article." Journal Title vol #, no [place issue number here] (month year): pages.

Example:

Jemison, Francis.  “Dance Therapy: A New Approach.”  Journal of Research in Dance 12, no. 2 (May 2008): 20-26.

Article in Online Journal

Use one of these elements to identify the location of the article online: name of database and article ID number, a permalink to the article, or a DOI.  Access dates are not usually listed, but if your professor requires one, place it just before the DOI or URL.

Note

16. Patrick Courser, “Crime Statistics and their Use in Training Programs,”  Crime and Justice Quarterly 47, no.3 (December 2008): 515, doi: 10.1088/458933.

Bibliography

Courser, Patrick. “Crime Statistics and their Use in Training Programs.”  Crime and Justice Quarterly 47, no.3 (December 2008): 512-520. doi:10.1088/458933.

Article Retrieved from a Database

Any of the following pieces of article identification are acceptable: DOI, name of database with/without an accession number for the article, or persistent or stable URL only if it refers specifically to that particular article.  Many instructors require just the name of the database; check with your instructor to ask which elements are preferred.

Note

9. Beth James, “The Long and the Short of QR Codes,” Technology Today 19, no. 1 (Winter 2010): 299, http://jstor.org/stable/876789.

10. Roberto Salkin, “Teaching Music from the Inside Out,”  20th Century Music Teacher (June 2009): 15, Lexis-Nexis Academic.

Bibliography

James, Beth.  “The Long and the Short of QR Codes.” Technology Today 19, no. 1 (Winter 2010): 290-299. http://jstor.org/stable/876789.

Salkin, Roberto. “Teaching Music from the Inside Out.”  20th Century Music Teacher (June 2009): 10 – 18. Lexis-Nexis Academic.

Article from Weekly or Monthly Magazine

Page numbers for articles should be included in the note, but are not cited in the bibliography entry.  If the article was accessed online, if the article was retrieved from a database, include its name. If the article is available on the open internet, include the URL.

Note

18. Andy Helprin, “Road Rage: Tips for Motorists,”  Glamour, March 2009, 80.

Bibliography

Helprin, Andy. “Road Rage: Tips for Motorists.  Glamour, March 2009.

Online Newspaper Article

For print format, omit URL. 

Note

7. John Bowman, “Farewell to the Parking Meter,” Chicago Tribune, February 10, 2009, http://www.chicagotribune.com/2009/02/10/2009.html.

Bibliography

Bowman, John. “Farewell to the Parking Meter,” Chicago Tribune, February 10, 2009. http://www.chicagotribune.com/2009/02/10/2009.html.