Skip to main content
Albert S. Cook Library

Chicago Style: Notes-Bibliography Format

Learn to cite sources using Chicago Style Notes-Bibliography Format

Need Help?

Cook Library has experienced librarians and library assistants ready to help, no matter where you are!

 

chat loading...

 

Text message: 410-774-1398

Phone: 410-704-2462

You can also:

Online Video

Note

          3. “Leonard Bernstein Conducts Mahler’s Fifth,” YouTube video, 8:20, from a performance televised by CBS on March 14, 1969, posted by “lenniefan,” November 10, 2008, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eiDRki59.

Bibliography

“Leonard Bernstein Conducts Mahler’s Fifth.” YouTube video, 8:20. From a performance televised by CBS on March 14, 1969. Posted  by “lenniefan,”  November 10, 2008. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eiDRki59.

Images

Information about paintings and other works of art can usually be presented within the text, rather than in a note or bibliography entry. If a note or bibliography entry is needed, follow this pattern:

Artist name, Title of Artwork, Date of creation, medium (and size, if known), location of work (museum or gallery).  

For images retrieved online, add the name of the database  or a URL to the end of the entry.

Note

3. Salvador Dali, The Persistence of Memory, 1931, oil on canvas, "9 1/2 x 13" (24.1 x 33 cm), Museum of Modern Art, New York, http://www.moma.org/collection/works/79018. 

Bibliography

Dali, Salvador. The Persistence of Memory. 1931. Oil on canvas. "9 1/2 x 13" (24.1 x 33 cm). Museum of Modern Art. New York. http://www.moma.org/collection/works/79018.

 

Musical Composition

Note

15. Hector Berlioz, Symphonie fantastique, ed. Walter Piston (Mineola, NY: Dover Publications, 2000).

Bibliography

Berlioz, Hector. Symphonie fantastique. Edited by Walter Piston. Mineola, NY: Dover Publications, 2000.

Sound Recording

Note

4. Johannes Brahms, Symphony No. 4, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Marin Alsop, Naxos CDL 40395, 2009, compact disc.

Bibliography

Brahms, Johannes. Symphony No. 4. Baltimore Symphony Orchestra. Conducted by Marin Alsop. Naxos CDL 40395, 2009, compact disc.

Video Recording

Note

12. Jason Grimaud, Suzanne Farrell: A Tribute, directed by Donald Da Costa (New York: WNET, 2003), DVD.

Bibliography

Grimaud, Jason. Suzanne Farrell: A Tribute. Directed by Donald Da Costa. New York: WNET, 2003. DVD.

Unpublished Thesis or Dissertation

Note

       4. Anne Walker, "Mozart: A Musical Advocate" (PhD diss., Arizona State University, 2010), 99-100.

Bibliography

Walker, Anne. "Mozart: A Musical Advocate."  PhD diss., Arizona State University, 2010. 

 

Social Media

Social media commentary may be entered directly in the text and identified by date, author, and the social platform used. No note or bibliography entry is required.

Example:

The library welcomes new students during orientation day: "Step right up to the library Welcome Carnival" (@CookLibraryOFTU, August 26, 2017).

If a more formal note is required, start with the author of the Facebook page or other social platform, enclose the title of the post within quotation marks followed by the date and the URL.

Note

1. Chicago Manual of Style, "Is the world ready for singular they? We thought so back in 1993," Facebook, April 14, 2015, https://www.facebook.com/ChicagoManual/posts/10152906193679151.

Bibliography

Chicago Manual of Style. "Is the world ready for singular they? We thought so back in 1993." Facebook, April 14, 2015, https://www.facebook.com/ChicagoManual/posts/10152906193679151.

Personal Communication

Personal communications including emails, phone calls, and text messages are usually cited directly in the text or in a note.  No bibliography entry is required.

Note

1. Dean Deborah A. Nolan, email to author, August 24, 2017.