Skip to main content
Albert S. Cook Library

Chicago Style: Notes-Bibliography Format

Learn to cite sources using Chicago Style Notes-Bibliography Format

Need Help?

Cook Library has experienced librarians and library assistants ready to help, no matter where you are!

 

chat loading...

 

Text message: 410-774-1398

Phone: 410-704-2462

You can also:

Basic Citation Rules

Citations for books should include the following information in this order whenever possible: {p. 693-694}           

  1. Full name of author(s) or editor as author or corporate/institutional author
  2. Title and subtitle
  3. Editor, compiler, or translator in addition to author
  4. Edition (only if not the first edition)
  5. Volume information: total number of volumes of an entire multivolume work cited, individual volume of an multivolume work, title of individual volume if different from set
  6. Series title and number (if applicable)
  7. Facts of publication: city, publisher, and date
  8. Page information for footnote/endnote entries
  9. For electronic books: URL or DOI [digital object identifier], or type of medium (Kindle, etc.)

***Remember to single space after all commas, colons, and periods.

One Author

Note

Basic pattern for note entries:
 

#.  Author first name and last name,Title of Book (Place of publication: Publisher, year), page.

Examples:

1. Oliver Sachs, Musicophilia: Tales of Music and the Brain (New York: Knopf, 2007), 53.

2. Sachs, Musicophilia, 55. [This is a short entry used any time a source is cited a second time within a document.]

Bibliography

Basic pattern for bibliography entries:

Author last name, first name. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, year.

Example:

Sachs, Oliver. Musicophilia: Tales of Music and the Brain. New York: Knopf, 2007.

Two or Three Authors

Note

12. Geoffrey C. Ward and Ken Burns, The War:  An Intimate History, 1941-1945 (New York: Knopf, 2007), 76.

13. Ward and Burns, War, 86-88. [This is a short entry used any time a source is cited a second time within a document.]

Bibliography

Ward, Geoffrey C., and Ken Burns. The War: An Intimate History, 1941-1945. New York: Knopf, 2007.

Four or More Authors

For the footnote/endnote, list only the first author, followed by the abbreviation, et  al. In the bibliography, list all authors' names.

Note

10. Henry Cleaver et al., Meditation as an Alternative Therapy (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2009), 43.

11. Cleaver et al., Meditation, 50. [This is a short entry used any time a source is cited a second time within a document.]

Bibliography

Cleaver, Henry, Juanita Warren, Henry Fink, and Sally Chasen. Meditation as an Alternative Therapy. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2009.

Editor or Translator in Place of Author

Note

3. Simone Blanding, ed., Women Playwrights for the New Millennium (New York: Garden City Press, 2003), 99.

Bibliography

Blanding, Simone, ed. Women Playwrights for the New Millennium. New York: Garden City Press, 2003.

Editor or Translator in Addition to Author

Note

8. Monica Freedman, A Rose for Hawthorne, trans. John Simmons (Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 2006), 81.

Bibliography

Freedman, Monica. A Rose for Hawthorne. Translated by John Simmons. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 2006.

Chapter or Part of a Book

Note

14. Percy Rugan, “Statistics and the College Student,” in Statistical Methods for Today’s Educators, ed. James Carbody and Helen Smith (New York: Harper & Row, 2000), 66.

Bibliography

Rugan, Percy. “Statistics and the College Student.” In Statistical Methods for Today’s Educators, edited by James Carbody and Helen Smith, 60 – 79. New York: Harper & Row, 2000.

Encyclopedia Article - Signed Entry

Note

21. Oliva Markuson, “Judy Chicago,” In Encyclopedia of Women Artists of the 20th Century (Boston:  Commonwealth Press, 2008), 43.

Bibliography

Markuson,Olivia. “Judy Chicago.” In Encyclopedia of Women Artists of the 20th Century. Boston: Commonwealth Press, 2008.

Electronic Book in Database

For both the note and the bibliography entry, be sure to include either the name of the database containing the ebook or a permalink for that title.

Note

9. Harriet Ford, Sign Language for Elementary School Teachers (New York: Oxford University Press, 2009), 33, Ebrary Academic Complete.

Bibliography

Ford, Harriet. Sign Language for Elementary School Teachers. New York: Oxford University Press, 2009. Ebrary Academic Complete.

Electronic Book on the Internet

If a DOI (digital object identifier) is not given, end the citation with the URL for the document

Note

13. Edwin Newsome, Business Plans for Success (Ottawa: Professional Press, 2001), doi:10.1193/bcbpfors/85648375.001.0002.

Bibliography

Newsome, Edwin. Business Plans for Success. Ottawa: Professional Press, 2001. doi:10.1193/bcbpfors/85648375.001.0002.