Research Guides: Companies: Articles

Finding Articles

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from newspapers, trade publications, magazines, and scholarly journals on all aspects of business. Also covers economics. Features SWOT Analyses and industry profiles from MarketLine; country reports.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international news, company information, and market data. Create custom company reports.
Wall Street Journal: Current Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from the Wall Street Journal from 1984-present.
To view the WSJ in paper/microfilm, including tables, visit the Periodicals Desk, 2nd floor.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni includes full text newspapers, company news and financial information, as well as federal, state, and international legal materials. Also contains some medical and reference sources.
Baltimore Sun: Current Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of articles from the Sun Papers from 1990-present.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This full text newswire database incorporates business wires from all over the world.

Making the Most of Your Database Search: Pro Tips

Search for your topic with a keyword search (also called word search).	Scan your list of hits. Pick one that seems relevant. Then make use of the subjects assigned to that article (sometimes called “descriptors”) to zero in on your topic!
Take advantage of special capabilities	Check out Advanced Search, Limit/Refine options. Some databases let you search by Ticker, NAICS or SIC (industry) code, or other cool stuff that let you hone right in
Save time!	Read article abstracts (summaries) Ask for help if you are having trouble!
Too much?	Add word(s) to get more specific (connect words with AND); search within a specific field (example: only look for your words in the title and/or lead paragraph or abstract); use limits (limit by year, language, type of article, etc.), sort results by relevance as needed
Too little?	Check your spelling; try fewer or different words; use more general concepts; link words with OR instead of AND; doublecheck what the database covers; do a full-text search if this is not already the default (in EBSCO databases like Business Source Complete, you would search the field: TX All Text)
Still having trouble?	Questions? http://libraries.towson.edu > Ask A Librarian

Search for your topic with a keyword search
(also called word search).

Scan your list of hits. Pick one that seems relevant.
Then make use of the subjects assigned to that article (sometimes called “descriptors”) to zero in on your topic!

Take advantage of special capabilities

Check out Advanced Search, Limit/Refine options.
Some databases let you search by Ticker, NAICS or SIC (industry) code, or other cool stuff that let you hone right in

Save time!

Read article abstracts (summaries)
Ask for help if you are having trouble!

Too much?

Add word(s) to get more specific (connect words with AND); search within a specific field (example: only look for your words in the title and/or lead paragraph or abstract);
use limits (limit by year, language, type of article, etc.), sort results by relevance as needed

Too little?

Check your spelling; try fewer or different words; use more general concepts; link words with OR instead of AND; doublecheck what the database covers; do a full-text search if this is not already the default (in EBSCO databases like Business Source Complete, you would search the field: TX All Text)

Still having trouble?

Questions? http://libraries.towson.edu > Ask A Librarian

Ask a Librarian

Companies

Finding Articles

Making the Most of Your Database Search: Pro Tips