Research Guides: Dance Education: Home

Librarian

Christina Taylor Gibson

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

8000 York Road
Towson, MD 21252

Subjects: Dance, Interdisciplinary Fine Arts, Music, Music Education, Theatre Arts

A Guide to the Guide

This LibGuide gathers many of the resources Dance faculty and students at Towson will find helpful for performing, learning, researching, and collaborating. It is not exhaustive by any means, and it focuses on two areas in particular:

Online resources paid for by the Library, including databases, e-books, and software.
Open Educational Resources (OER) available for free on the internet that are particularly relevant to music faculty and students.

The menu on the left contains categorized sources for you to use as you explore your research topics. Under each category, you will find a wide variety of resources for the study of dance. Remember that online tools paid for by the University will require you to log in with your Net ID if you are accessing these from off campus.

The LibGuide is a place to start. It will not fill every research need, nor will it be intuitive to every learner. Please, please reach out to a librarian via chat, email, or by appointment if you have additional questions.

Teaching Materials

MADE 845
Librarian meeting PP

Best Bets

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance represents the most comprehensive multicultural and inter-disciplinary research tool available to theater students, educators and professionals. Since 1984, the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College has published 14 volumes of the IBTD. These volumes comprise a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. Includes full text for 100 journals and more than 50 books.
Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The only collection of curated primary and secondary full-text materials to support informed performance, pedagogy, and scholarship in dance. Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection presents the historical context of 20th and 21st century dance through 150,000 pages of exclusive photographs, correspondence, magazines, dance notation, and reference material that dissolve the distance between archive and scholar and draw dance students into the library.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing, including areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
NDEO Dance Education Literature and Research descriptive index This link opens in a new window
NDEO Dance Education Literature and Research descriptive index (NDEO DELRdi) contains data from over 3,300 documents (dissertations, theses, articles) written 1926 to the present, consisting of research in dance education.

Professional Organization Websites

Arts Education Partnership
Reports and documents pertaining to research on education and the arts as well as various state programs
American College Dance Association
Supports dance in higher education through conferences, competitions, and festivals.
National Dance Education Organization
A professional organization for dance instructors.
International Association of Blacks in Dance
Mission: "preserves and promotes dance by people of African ancestry or origin, and assists and increases opportunities for artists in advocacy, audience development, education, funding, networking, performance, philosophical dialogue, and touring."
NCES - National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. NCES is located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences. NCES fulfills a Congressional mandate to collect, collate, analyze, and report complete statistics on the condition of American education; conduct and publish reports; and review and report on education activities internationally.

Ask a Librarian

Dance Education

Librarian

A Guide to the Guide

Teaching Materials

Best Bets

Professional Organization Websites

Collections Newsletter