Research Guides: Environmental Science: Scholarly Articles

Getting Full Text Articles

If you do not see a way to download or view a pdf or html file of an article you may see a yellow icon with the words "find it":

Follow the icon in order to:

Access online full text (when available)
See if the journal is available in print (library catalog)
Request a free pdf of the article if full text is not available online (Interlibrary loan)

If you have the citation for the article you are trying to access, you can also search the Journal List to check if the library subscribes to your specific article.

Head of Library Teaching

Elisabeth B. White

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Email: ebwhite@towson.edu

Phone: (410) 704-8026

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science/Studies, Forensic Chemistry, Math Education, Mathematics, MB3, Research Impact, Research Metrics, Science Education

Databases

Search the databases below to find scholarly articles about environmental science. You can also find scholarly articles through Cook OneSearch -- just make sure you check the box next to "peer reviewed" on your search results!

Not seeing the database you need? Try the A-Z Databases page or Ask a Librarian for assistance.

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, and offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, this database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a large, multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It also has tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect includes over 2,500 full text journals and 7,500 eBooks covering all aspects of science - including life sciences, physical sciences and social sciences. Terms and Conditions.
GeoRef (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to nearly 2 million records about geology and earth sciences. Indexed content includes journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses.
Agricola This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The NAL Catalog (Agricola) provides citations to agricultural literature from the National Agricultural Library, one of four national libraries of the United States that houses one of the world's largest and most accessible agricultural information collections.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for over 7,000 journals. Full text of articles for over 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed publications. Multidisciplinary subject coverage, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, and ethnic studies.
Technical Report Archive and Image Library This link opens in a new window
Federally funded technical reports issued before 1975. Space exploration, alternative energy sources, nuclear reactors, mining, and water purification are among the topics in more than 20,000 documents summarizing engineering and regulatory investigations. Page images with searchable metadata.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital image archive of over 450 core scholarly journals in JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and IV collections. Coverage begins with the first volume and issue of the title. Articles contain full text plus graphics, charts, tables etc.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The library subscribes to the full-text of the complete collection of journals available from SpringerLink, totaling over 2000 journals.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar enables users to search for scholarly literature from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, repositories and universities. Use Google Scholar to find journal articles, peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, technical reports and preprints on the web.
Cook OneSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find books, articles, media, government information, and other library resources all in one place. Search what Towson owns as well as resources at other USMAI Libraries.

Open Access Journals

In addition to searching the databases that the Cook Library subscribes to, you can also find scholarly articles in environmental science in open access journals. These articles are freely available online and do not require a TU login.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
A database containing over 12,000 peer reviewed scholarly journals across numerous academic disciplines.
Springer Open
A collection of open access journals from the publisher Springer. It contains journals in the life sciences, biomedicine, public health, and a variety of other academic disciplines.

Accessing Articles Later

If you find an article that you would like to come back to, do not copy and paste the URL from the top of your web browser. In many databases, these URLs change frequently as articles are added and removed, so the URL you copy may not work later. The safest option is always to find and download the PDF and save it in a safe place. However, you can also create a permalink, which is a stable URL that will work for you later. Different databases will put the permalink icon in different places, but the icon usually looks like a small chain.

Some databases may not have a permalink icon for you. If you find an article and you don't see an option to save a permalink, you can use the Cook Library's Proxy Builder to create your stable URL. Copy and paste your URL into the first box, and a stable URL will be created for you in the second box.

What to do if you hit a paywall

Sometimes when you're searching for articles, especially on the open web, you may encounter a paywall. This is a page that often has the abstract of an article but it tells you that you must pay a fee to access the full-text of the article. If that happens, please don't pay to access the article! Most of the time, the library can still get it for you.

When you hit a paywall, please feel free to Ask a Librarian for assistance. The video below shows how you can search for alternative means of access on your own.