Research Guides: ENVS 601: Topics in Environmental Geology: Home

Head of Library Teaching

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Email: ebwhite@towson.edu

Phone: (410) 704-8026

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science/Studies, Forensic Chemistry, Math Education, Mathematics, MB3, Research Impact, Research Metrics, Science Education

Welcome + Library Session Links

Welcome to the Cook Library Course Guide for ENVS 601: Topics in Environmental Geology. In this guide, you will find a variety of resources that will assist you with your research in this course. If you have questions at any time, please contact your subject librarian, Elisabeth White. Her contact information is on the left.

ENVS 601: Library Session Slides (.pptx)

Getting Started

Not sure where to start your research? Here are a few resources that may help.

How to Start Your Research
Not familiar with Cook Library resources or need a quick refresher on how to use them effectively? The How to Start Your Research guide contains some basic information about searching the library catalog, evaluating information to help you decide if it's appropriate to include in your assignment, and more.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect includes over 2,500 full text journals and 7,500 eBooks covering all aspects of science - including life sciences, physical sciences and social sciences. Terms and Conditions.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a large, multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It also has tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, and offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, this database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.
Cook OneSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find books, articles, media, government information, and other library resources all in one place. Search what Towson owns as well as resources at other USMAI Libraries.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar enables users to search for scholarly literature from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, repositories and universities. Use Google Scholar to find journal articles, peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, technical reports and preprints on the web.

Remote Access through TU Libraries

You can access our online resources from off-campus. Add this button as a bookmark to your browser, and then reload to get it through TU Libraries. If we subscribe to it, you will be able to see it after you log in.

Bookmark the "Reload at TU" button

Firefox

Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar or right click and select the "Bookmark This Link" option.

Chrome

Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar.

Safari

Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar. If the bookmarks toolbar isn't visible, press Ctrl + Shift + B.

Internet Explorer

Right click the button and choose the "Add to favorites..." option. You may get a warning about adding unsafe links. While it's good practice to be wary, this link is safe.

How it works

This button adds some information in front of the URL called a proxy that allows you to log in through your TU netID.

It will only work for resources we subscribe to. Check the Journal List or Databases list for a complete list, or Ask a Librarian.

Access Library Resources from Off Campus

This video, "Accessing Cook Library Resources from Off Campus" from the Albert S. Cook Library, discusses how you can sign in to the library website, sign in to Cook OneSearch, and use the Reload at TU button. This video runs 4:12 and was last updated in August 2024.