The Literature Review section of a scholarly journal article is one way to learn about a topic, including a brief summary of the issue from past to present as well as founding thinkers and essential texts. Of course, in our daily lives, the main way we learn about a topic is by... Googling it! The first result is likely to be Wikipedia, a free online encyclopedia. Wikipedia is useful even for academic research! Although you shouldn't cite the Wikipedia entry, you should check its References and explore the Further Reading.
If you want to learn about a topic using sources you can cite, consider using a scholarly reference source. Reference materials include dictionaries and encyclopedias. Scholarly reference sources are written by scholars for other scholars. They aren't publicly available on the web and are accessed through a library database.
The easiest way to find an encyclopedia entry on your topic is to use Cook OneSearch, linked below and permanently located on the library homepage. Just search for one idea using a single keyword (such as "mental health"), then click the first result, called a research primer. This primer should be a few paragraphs of text, and the encyclopedia the entry came from is listed at either the top or the bottom of the page.
Find books, articles, media, government information, and other library resources all in one place. Search what Towson owns as well as resources at other USMAI Libraries.
SAGE Knowledge is a searchable collection of thousands of selected ebooks and over 60 encyclopedias and reference works covering many subjects, including business and management, criminal justice, education, family studies, politics, and many others, and provides unlimited, site-wide use. Terms and Conditions.
The Emerald Handbook of Higher Education in a Post-Covid World: New Approaches and Technologies for Teaching and Learning by 
Handbook of Educational Reform Through Blended Learning by 
The Accidental Instructional Designer: Learning Design for the Digital Age by 
Research, Writing, and Creative Process in Open and Distance Education: Tales from the Field by 
