Research Guides: Mathematics: Getting Started

Science, Technology, and Math Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Email: ebwhite@towson.edu

Phone: (410) 704-5326

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science/Studies, Forensic Chemistry, Math Education, Mathematics, MB3, Research Impact, Research Metrics, Science Education

In this Guide

Use the pages in this guide to find:

Advice on finding news and background information about mathematics research.
A selection of resources for finding mathematics print books and eBooks.
A list of databases containing scholarly articles about mathematics.
Tips for citing your sources in the proper format.
Links to related subject guides to further guide your research.

Best Bets

Not sure where to start your research? Try one of the following resources to begin your search.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect includes over 2,500 full text journals and 7,500 eBooks covering all aspects of science - including life sciences, physical sciences and social sciences. Terms and Conditions.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
It is a resource from the American Mathematical Society (AMS) and consists of reviews and citations to the world's research literature in mathematics and related areas compiled from Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a large, multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It also has tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for over 7,000 journals. Full text of articles for over 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed publications. Multidisciplinary subject coverage, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, and ethnic studies.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar enables users to search for scholarly literature from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, repositories and universities. Use Google Scholar to find journal articles, peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, technical reports and preprints on the web.
Cook OneSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find books, articles, media, government information, and other library resources all in one place. Search what Towson owns as well as resources at other USMAI Libraries.

Remote Access through TU Libraries

You can access our online resources from off-campus. Add this button as a bookmark to your browser, and then reload to get it through TU Libraries. If we subscribe to it, you will be able to see it after you log in.

Bookmark the "Reload at TU" button

Firefox

Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar or right click and select the "Bookmark This Link" option.

Chrome

Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar.

Safari

Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar. If the bookmarks toolbar isn't visible, press Ctrl + Shift + B.

Internet Explorer

Right click the button and choose the "Add to favorites..." option. You may get a warning about adding unsafe links. While it's good practice to be wary, this link is safe.

How it works

This button adds some information in front of the URL called a proxy that allows you to log in through your TU netID.

It will only work for resources we subscribe to. Check the Journal List or Databases list for a complete list, or Ask a Librarian.

Accessing Electronic Resources from Off Campus

Working off campus? Not a problem. You can access all of the Cook Library's electronic resources from anywhere with an internet connection by signing in to the library website. The short video below demonstrates that process.