Research Guides: Mathematics Education (MTED): Getting Started

Head of Library Teaching

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Email: ebwhite@towson.edu

Phone: (410) 704-8026

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science/Studies, Forensic Chemistry, Math Education, Mathematics, MB3, Research Impact, Research Metrics, Science Education

In this Guide

Use the pages in this guide to find:

Resources for finding news and background information about mathematics education.
Resources for finding both print books and eBooks.
Resources for finding scholarly articles.
Advice on how to cite your sources.
Additional subject guides on related topics to provide additional help with your research.

Best Bets

Best Bet: Selected Education Databases (EBSCO)
Searches Education Research Complete; ERIC; Professional Development Collection; Teacher Reference Center; Communication & Mass Media Complete; SocINDEX with Full Text; PsycINFO. Click Choose Databases to remove or add more databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for over 7,000 journals. Full text of articles for over 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed publications. Multidisciplinary subject coverage, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, and ethnic studies.
ERIC- EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains materials in all areas of education and at all levels from preschool through college. Provides citation and abstract information from over 750 educational journals and related documents from the Educational Resource Information Center educational symposium report literature dating back to 1967. Also includes full text ERIC Digest records, along with references for additional information breakdown of the 16 ERIC clearinghouses.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a large, multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It also has tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
It is a resource from the American Mathematical Society (AMS) and consists of reviews and citations to the world's research literature in mathematics and related areas compiled from Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications.
Cook OneSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find books, articles, media, government information, and other library resources all in one place. Search what Towson owns as well as resources at other USMAI Libraries.

NCTM Journals

Cook Library subscribes to publications from the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM). The most recent issues are available on the NCTM website. Older issues are on JSTOR.

Mathematics Teacher: Learning and Teaching PK-12: Current Issues
Use this link to access articles from 2020 to present.
Mathematics Teacher Educator: Current Issues
Use this link to access articles from 2015 to present.
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education: Current Issues
Use this link to access articles from 2014 to present.
NCTM Journals: Older Issues
Use this link to access older issues of all NCTM journalss.

Remote Access through TU Libraries

You can access our online resources from off-campus. Add this button as a bookmark to your browser, and then reload to get it through TU Libraries. If we subscribe to it, you will be able to see it after you log in.

Bookmark the "Reload at TU" button

Firefox

Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar or right click and select the "Bookmark This Link" option.

Chrome

Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar.

Safari

Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar. If the bookmarks toolbar isn't visible, press Ctrl + Shift + B.

Internet Explorer

Right click the button and choose the "Add to favorites..." option. You may get a warning about adding unsafe links. While it's good practice to be wary, this link is safe.

How it works

This button adds some information in front of the URL called a proxy that allows you to log in through your TU netID.

It will only work for resources we subscribe to. Check the Journal List or Databases list for a complete list, or Ask a Librarian.

Access Library Resources from Off Campus

This video, "Accessing Cook Library Resources from Off Campus" from the Albert S. Cook Library, discusses how you can sign in to the library website, sign in to Cook OneSearch, and use the Reload at TU button. This video runs 4:12 and was last updated in August 2024.