Research Guides: Science Education: Getting Started

Head of Library Teaching

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Email: ebwhite@towson.edu

Phone: (410) 704-8026

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science/Studies, Forensic Chemistry, Math Education, Mathematics, MB3, Research Impact, Research Metrics, Science Education

Best Bets

Not sure where to start? Try one of these "Best Bets" or refer to the other pages on this guide.

Best Bet: Selected Education Databases (EBSCO)
Searches Education Research Complete; ERIC; Professional Development Collection; Teacher Reference Center; Communication & Mass Media Complete; SocINDEX with Full Text; PsycINFO. Click Choose Databases to remove or add more databases

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing, including areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
JoVE Science Education Unlimited This link opens in a new window
A video library dedicated to teaching the practice and theory of scientific experiments through engaging and easy-to-understand visual demonstrations. Covers the following areas: Biology, Physics, Engineering, Chemistry, Clinical Skills, Environmental Sciences, Psychology.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for over 7,000 journals. Full text of articles for over 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed publications. Multidisciplinary subject coverage, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, and ethnic studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital image archive of over 450 core scholarly journals in JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and IV collections. Coverage begins with the first volume and issue of the title. Articles contain full text plus graphics, charts, tables etc.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect includes over 2,500 full text journals and 20,000 books covering all aspects of science - including life sciences, physical sciences and social sciences.
Cook OneSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find books, articles, media, government information, and other library resources all in one place. Search what Towson owns as well as resources at other USMAI Libraries.

Remote Access through TU Libraries

You can access our online resources from off-campus. Add this button as a bookmark to your browser, and then reload to get it through TU Libraries. If we subscribe to it, you will be able to see it after you log in.

Bookmark the "Reload at TU" button

Firefox

Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar or right click and select the "Bookmark This Link" option.

Chrome

Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar.

Safari

Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar. If the bookmarks toolbar isn't visible, press Ctrl + Shift + B.

Internet Explorer

Right click the button and choose the "Add to favorites..." option. You may get a warning about adding unsafe links. While it's good practice to be wary, this link is safe.

How it works

This button adds some information in front of the URL called a proxy that allows you to log in through your TU netID.

It will only work for resources we subscribe to. Check the Journal List or Databases list for a complete list, or Ask a Librarian.

Access Library Resources from Off Campus

This video, "Accessing Cook Library Resources from Off Campus" from the Albert S. Cook Library, discusses how you can sign in to the library website, sign in to Cook OneSearch, and use the Reload at TU button. This video runs 4:12 and was last updated in August 2024.