Research Guides: TSEM 102: Current Issues in Education: Living and Learning in a Digital Society (Johnson): Find Academic Sources

Getting Full Text Articles

If you do not see a full text article link look for the button in order to:

Access online full text (when available)
See if the journal is available in print (library catalog)
Request a pdf of the article if full text is not available online (Interlibrary Loan)

If you have the citation for the article you are trying to access, search the Journal List to check if the library subscribes to your specific article.

Science, Technology, and Math Librarian

Elisabeth B. White

she/her/hers

~[130]~

~[128]~:

Email: ebwhite@towson.edu

Phone: (410) 704-5326

~[125]~: Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science/Studies, Forensic Chemistry, Math Education, Mathematics, MB3, Research Impact, Research Metrics, Science Education

General Use Databases

Here are a few library databases that are broad in scope. They contain scholarly articles on a wide variety of topics and are an excellent place to begin your research.

Need help using Cook OneSearch? Watch the short video near the bottom of the page.

Academic Search Ultimate ~[392]~
- ~[392]~
- ~[392]~
Indexing and abstracts for over 7,000 journals. Full text of articles for over 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed publications. Multidisciplinary subject coverage, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, and ethnic studies.
MasterFILE Premier ~[392]~
- ~[392]~
Covers general interest topics such as general reference, health, business, and culture.
JSTOR ~[392]~
- ~[392]~
Digital image archive of over 450 core scholarly journals in JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and IV collections. Coverage begins with the first volume and issue of the title. Articles contain full text plus graphics, charts, tables etc.
Cook OneSearch ~[392]~
- ~[392]~
Cook OneSearch is a good place to start your search for scholarly articles relating to education and technology. Limit to scholarly peer-reviewed articles by checking the box for "Peer Reviewed" on the Refine Results panel of the results page.
Google Scholar ~[392]~
Google Scholar enables users to search for scholarly literature from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, repositories and universities. Use Google Scholar to find journal articles, peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, technical reports and preprints on the web.

Subject-Specific Databases

Here are a few library databases that may be relevant to your research topic. You can browse additional databases on our A-Z Databases page. Select a subject from the first drop-down menu on the left to narrow the database list to a particular academic discipline.

Best Bet: Selected Education Databases (EBSCO)
Searches Education Research Complete; ERIC; Professional Development Collection; Teacher Reference Center; Communication & Mass Media Complete; SocINDEX with Full Text; PsycINFO. Click Choose Databases to remove or add more databases

SPORTDiscus with Full Text ~[392]~
- ~[392]~
A bibliographic and full text database covering both serial and monographic literature on sports, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, and kinesiology. This database provides full text for more than 440 journals, with full-text coverage dating back to 1985.
Business Source Complete ~[392]~
- ~[392]~
- ~[392]~
Articles from newspapers, trade publications, magazines, and scholarly journals on all aspects of business. Also covers economics. Features SWOT Analyses and industry profiles from MarketLine; country reports.
ScienceDirect ~[392]~
- ~[392]~
ScienceDirect includes over 2,500 full text journals and 7,500 eBooks covering all aspects of science - including life sciences, physical sciences and social sciences. Terms and Conditions.
Health Source- Nursing/Academic Edition ~[392]~
- ~[392]~
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 520 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 550 journals.
APA PsycInfo ~[392]~
- ~[392]~
- ~[392]~
Produced by the American Psychological Association, this database is a comprehensive index to the professional and academic literature in psychology, counseling and related disciplines. Covers 1860-present.

Accessing Articles Later

If you find an article that you would like to come back to, do not copy and paste the URL from the top of your web browser. Database URLs change frequently as articles are added and removed, so the URL you copy may not work later. The safest option is always to find and download the PDF and save it in a safe place. However, you can also create a permalink, which is a stable URL that will work for you later.

Creating permalinks in Cook OneSearch or an EBSCO database is easy: on the article page, look under the Tools column on the right and click on the word permalink. Then, copy and paste the URL it creates into a safe place.

Other databases may not have a permalink icon for you. If you find an article and you don't see an option to save a permalink, you can use the Cook Library's Proxy Builder to create your stable URL. Copy and paste your URL into the first box, and a stable URL will be created for you in the second box.

Find an Article with Cook OneSearch

This video, "Find an Article with Cook OneSearch" from the Albert S. Cook Library, discusses how to search for and access articles. This video runs 4:55 and was last updated in October, 2020.

Refine Database Search Results

This video, "Refine Database Search Results" from the Albert S. Cook Library, discusses how to conduct a search and refine your results. This video runs 14:34 and was last updated in September, 2020.

Using Google in a Scholarly Way: Google Scholar

Learn to conduct research using Google Scholar. This video from the Albert S. Cook Library runs 2:44 and was last updated in 2021.

Ask a Librarian

TSEM 102: Current Issues in Education: Living and Learning in a Digital Society (Johnson)