Skip to main content
Albert S. Cook Library

Theatre Arts

Listing of resources selected for research in theatre arts.

Performing Arts Librarian

Lisa Woznicki's picture
Lisa Woznicki
chat loading...
Click on the bookmark icon below to go to Lisa's website & blog..
Contact:
Cook Library 407D
lwoznicki@towson.edu
410-704-2498
Website / Blog Page

If you are starting your research, use the links on the left to locate the type of resource that you need.

The tabs at left contain categorized sources for you to use in exploring your research topics.  Under each category,  you will find a wide variety of resources for the study of theatre arts.

Remember that online tools will require you to log in with your Net ID if you are accessing these from off campus.

If you don't find what you need, or if you have further questions about theatre research, please don't hesitate to contact the Performing Arts Librarian, Lisa Woznicki.

fcomedy tragedy masks

Typical Research Tasks

Confused about how to start your research?  Take a look at these questions, match your assignment to those described below, and try the suggested sources.

Task: I need to find background information for my paper on improvisational theater.
Strategy: Click on the Finding Journal Articles tab and search in International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance, Humanities Abstracts, JSTOR, Academic Search Complete, or one of the other indexing databases listed on this page.  Also try clicking on the Electronic Encyclopedias tab and search in Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance, or the Continuum Companion to 20th Century Theatre.

Task: Where can I find biographical information on Caryl Churchill?
Strategy: Click on Electronic Encyclopedias and search under the playwright's name in the Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance, or the Continuum Companion to 20th Century Theatre, Oxford Companion to American Theatre, Literature Online (LION), or Biography in Context.

Task: I want to watch a filmed production of a play by Edward Albee and see documentaries about his life and work.
Strategy: Click on Streaming Video Content and search by playwright's name in Films on Demand or VAST: Academic Video Online to stream a video right on your computer or your mobile device.

Task: I need to find a literary critique or article of literary criticism for Arthur Miller's play, The Crucible.
Strategy: Click on the Finding Journal Articles tab and search in International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance, Humanities Abstracts, JSTOR, Academic Search Complete, or one of the other indexing databases listed on this page. 

Task: Where can I watch a filmed production of Hamlet?
Strategy: Click on Streaming Video Content and search by production title in Films on Demand, VAST: Academic Video Online, or BBC Shakespeare Plays to stream a video.

Task: What do I use to find performance reviews of the musical Hamilton?
Strategy: Click on Finding Journal Articles tab and search by production title in International Bibliography of Theater and DanceAcademic Search Complete, or another database listed in this block.. Click on Newspaper Articles tab and search by production title in Newspapers and News (Proquest), New York Times, Lexis/Nexis, or Newsbank Access World News.

Completely new to theater research and not sure where to start?  Check out the Jumpstart Guide and take a look at suggested databases and other tools.  If you need help with a specific type of search, look at the other guides for illustrated step by step directions.