Research Guides: Theatre Arts: Streaming Video

Streaming Videos of Filmed Productions, Documentaries about Theatre

These streaming databases often require FlashPlayer to be installed on your computer.

Be sure to check the 'transcript' feature of these products to read and download a transcript of the text of the film.

Also note that many films have closed captions or subtitles that you can turn on if needed.

National Theatre Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
National Theatre Collection brings the stage to life through access to high definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies. Through a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, this collection offers a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive.
Theatre and Drama Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cross search for all of Alexander Street's theatre and drama databases including: Black Drama Third Edition, Broadway HD, Contemporary World Drama, Drama Text Collection, Performance Design Archive, Twentieth Century Drama Second Edition, Theatre in Context Collection, Theatre in Performance Collection, and The Royal Shakespeare Company Collection.
Alexander Street Press Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online: Premium includes over 65,000 videos every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Users will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners as well as the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.
BroadwayHD Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street is proud to have an exclusive partnership with BroadwayHD, whose mission is to promote and preserve live theatre, extending the reach of Broadway and Broadway-caliber shows to anyone, anywhere. Founded by Broadway producers Stewart F. Lane and Bonnie Comley, BroadwayHD captures and transports the magic of performance from the stage to your screen. Performances include Romeo and Juliet, featuring Orlando Bloom and two-time Tony-nominated Condola Rashad, Cyrano de Bergerac, featuring Kevin Kline, and more.
Royal Shakespeare Company Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
High-definition, surround-sound recordings of William Shakespeare’s plays featuring the world’s best Shakespearean actors and directors. The Royal Shakespeare Company Collection brings The Tempest, King Lear, Hamlet and other famous performances filmed at the Royal Shakespeare Company’s Stratford-upon-Avon theater to classrooms around the world.

Medici.tv This link opens in a new window
The largest online collection of classical music, operas, and ballets in the world, this database offers access to the best of classical music with over 1,800 programs (3,000 original works), including concerts and archived historical concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, artist portraits and educational programs, and master classes. See Terms and Conditions

Kennedy Center Digital Stage
Includes recordings of performances, interviews, and other materials.

Films

Films on Demand Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group both on and off-campus. This collection includes more than 30,000 educational titles in the humanities & social sciences; science; business and economics; and health.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a film streaming service, offering over 12,000 streaming films from over 30 suppliers, with new films added daily. This database includes films from the Criterion Collection, PBS, Psychotherapy.net, New Day Films, and many others.
Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital Campus, from Swank Motion Pictures, allows you to legally stream theatrical motion pictures for educational purposes. The films available on the Digital Campus home page have been requested by TU faculty and licensed by the library for a single year. Please note that you must use the latest version of either Google Chrome or Firefox to stream from Digital Campus; Internet Explorer is NOT compatible with this platform.

Ask a Librarian

Theatre Arts

Streaming Videos of Filmed Productions, Documentaries about Theatre

Films