With the Performance Design Archive Online, theatre students and researchers can now truly see "behind the scenes" of the world's greatest dramatic performances. Performance Design Archive Online is the first comprehensive, international collection that covers all aspects of theater production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, and makeup. Bringing together essential books and periodicals, archival material, and specially commissioned instructional videos, the collection will cover design concepts for a broad range of performance types, including dance, theatre, opera, and music.
Cross search for all of Alexander Street's theatre and drama databases including: Black Drama Third Edition, Broadway HD, Contemporary World Drama, Drama Text Collection, Performance Design Archive, Twentieth Century Drama Second Edition, Theatre in Context Collection, Theatre in Performance Collection, and The Royal Shakespeare Company Collection.
O’Dell’s Annals of the New York Stage, the Oxford University Press Companion series, and Greenwood’s American Theatre Companies series are just a few of the many in-copyright sources included in the Theatre in Context Collection. Placed alongside thousands of playbills, posters, photographs, and related theatrical ephemera, users will be able to paint a more comprehensive picture of the life and evolution of dramatic works.
While the texts of plays can serve as lasting documents, the productions are ephemeral; a live performance is gone when the curtain falls. And yet the collaborative elements of theatre in performance—the work of the actors, directors, and designers—have tremendous scholarly and educational value long after a production closes. Now, faculty, scholars, and patrons of the performing arts will be able to revisit great performances again and again, and these landmark events can become a permanent part of the curriculum.
Electronic Encyclopedias and Handbooks of Theatre for Researching People, Plays, Ensembles, and Venues
LION provides texts, and criticism of over 350,000 works of poetry, prose and drama from the 8th to the 21st century including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries. Search by playwright name or work title.
This collection represents a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres, and includes the e-versions of Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism and Short Story Criticism.
Universally acknowledged as the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of music. Grove Music Online comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell (London, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, edited by Stanley Sadie (London, 1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, edited by Barry Kernfeld (London, 2002).
Grant funded database which includes information on the theatrical culture of London, from the reopening of the public playhouses following the English civil wars in 1660 to the end of the eighteenth century.